Changing HIP HOP , Jay Z & Kanye flipped the script & recorded over a dubstep inspired beat for Watch The Throne

Verse Simmonds speaks out from working with the two heavy hitters to shed light on the upcoming album and the Roc Boys’ wide range of musical influences.

In an interview between MTV & Simmonds he explains how Jay and ‘Kanye looked to the dubstep genre for a song to go on the album, titled “Who Gon’ Stop Me.” Simmonds, who wrote the chorus to the track, explained that he and co-producer/Jugganauts partner Sak Pase came up with the song’s concept after a talkin about the rising influence of dubstep  has on today’s music

“What we did is, we locked in a week, we just went crazy on everything Jay and Kanye,” Simmonds told MTV News. “I remember telling Sham, I was like, ‘Yo, I think this dubstep stuff is going to be the next new flavor that everybody gotta be on. It gotta have a Hip Hop feel to it still’…we started creating the track, and it just started to come crazy, so we came up with the concept. It was like, ‘Who gon stop me, huh? Black cards, black cars, whole lot of money.'”

Simmonds also discussed the chorus that he penned for the Hip Hop legends. He explained that he tapped into Jay and Kanye’s creative flair and lyrical patterns to create the hook.

“When I recorded it, everybody was like, ‘Yo, you sound just like Kanye, you sound just like Jay-Z,'” he recalled. “It’s just crazy, because I felt like, at that moment in time, I was them. I got into that mode of: ‘What would these guys say? How would they say it?’ I think they heard it the first time and loved it.”

Here’s a complete track list of the album Watch The Throne

01 No Church In The Wild f. Frank Ocean (prod. Kanye West & 88-Keys)
02 Lift Off f. Beyoncé (prod. Kanye West, Mike Dean, Jeff Bhasker, Q-Tip & Don Jazzy)
03 Niggas In Paris (prod. Hit-Boy, Kanye West, Mike Dean & Anthony Kilhoffer)
04 Otis f. Otis Redding (prod. Kanye West)
05 Gotta Have It (prod. The Neptunes & Kanye Wwest)
06 New Day (prod. The RZA, Kanye West, Mike Dean & Ken Lewis)
07 That’s My Bi**h (prod. Q-Tip, Kanye West & Jeff Bhasker)
08 Who Gon’ Stop Me (prod. Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph, Kanye West & Mike Dean)
09 Murder To Excellence (prod. Swizz Beatz & Symbolyc One)
10 Welcome To The Jungle (prod. Swizz Beatz, Mike Dean & Ken Lewis)
11 Made In America f. Frank Ocean (prod. Sham “Sak Pase” Joseph & Mike Dean)
12 Why I Love You f. Mr Hudson (prod. Mike Dean & Kanye West)
13 Illest Motherfucker Alive (prod. Southside, Kanye West & Mike Dean) *
14 H.A.M (prod. Lex Luger, Kanye West & Mike Dean) *
15 Primetime (prod. No I.D.) *
16 The Joy f. Curtis Mayfield (prod. Pete Rock, Kanye West & Mike Dean) *

* denotes bonus tracks

Related posts

Dame Dash Admits He’s Broke & Owes IRS $2M




Smif-N-Wessun & Pete Rock Comment On Outlawz Smoking 2pac’s Ashes


Leave a Comment